Follow

PowerSchool & Moodle - Important Reminders

For directions on how to install the plugin to PowerSchool, please click here.

For directions on how to install the plugin to Moodle, please click here.

To create the connection between PowerSchool and Moodle, please click here

To review the PowerSchool demo, please click here. 

 

Please remember the following when syncing PowerSchool and Moodle Systems. 

Note: Our PowerSchool plugin has been updated to be compatible with Moodle 3.3.

 

Users

While you are able to associate users by either username or email, the usernames or emails in both PowerSchool and Moodle must match to sync properly. 

Courses 

The plugin supports two types of synchronization related to PowerSchool sections: 

  • If a PowerSchool section is synced as Moodle user group, then the PowerSchool course is synced as a Moodle course.
  • If a PowerSchool section is synced as Moodle course, then the PowerSchool course is synced as Moodle course category.

The plugin supports the following types of synchronization related to PowerSchool Courses: 

  • A PowerSchool Course may be synced as a Moodle Course.
  • A PowerSchool Course may be synced as a a Group of users in a Moodle Course.  Syncing sections as Groups of users inside Moodle makes a new group for each section.

Note: These options appear for each course on the Manual Sync Page. 

To sync sections as user groups, the Moodle Course ID Number must equal the PowerSchool Course Number.

To sync sections as a course, the Moodle Course ID Number must equal the PowerSchool Course Number.Section Number (Example: Course_1.Section_2)

Course Categories

Please create one top-level category in Moodle for each PowerSchool connection.  After the top-level category, the second-level category for each school.  When syncing, a new third-level category will be created for Departments and a fourth-level category will be created for courses.  (ex/ 1. Moodle Connection > 2. School > 3. Department > 4. Courses)  Note: On the manual sync page, you can now set a different category for each course. If you want to manually change the course category, you can remove the checkbox from "Update course category for existing courses" on the manual sync page.

To sync existing courses from another category or if you want to change a course category after the first sync, disable the checkbox 'Update course category for exiting course' on the page 'Manual sync" in the 'Course Category for school' section. 

 

For additional support, please click here

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk